Campus LifeAcademic Calendar

Isehara

Academic Calendar 2017

Medicine

Graduate Undergraduate
Spring Semester
Guidance for new students 1 Apr (Sat.)
Classes commence (4th and 6th year students) 1 Apr (Sat.)
2 Apr (Sun.) Entrance ceremony (Shonan Campus) 2 Apr (Sun.)
Orientation for new students 3 Apr (Mon.), 6 Apr (Thu.)
Placement test for new students 3 Apr (Mon.)
Guidance for current students (3rd year students) 3 Apr (Mon.)
Classes commence (5th year students) 3 Apr (Mon.)
Classes commence (3rd year students) 4 Apr (Tue.)
Freshmen seminar 4 Apr (Tue.), 5 Apr (Wed.)
Guidance for current students (2nd year students) 6 Apr (Thu.)
6 Apr (Thu.) Guidance for current students
7 Apr (Fri.) Classes commence
Classes commence (1st and 2nd year students) 7 Apr (Fri.)
Normal timetable on Showa Day holiday 29 Apr (Sat.)
No classes 6 May (Sat.)
Classes finish (6th year students) 1 Jul (Sat.)
Normal classes on Marine Day holiday (1st year students at Shonan campus) 17 Jul (Mon.)
25 Jul (Tue.), 28 Jul (Fri.),
31 Jul (Mon.),
1 Aug (Tue.) - 3 Aug (Thu.)
Makeup classes (if required) 25 Jul (Tue.)
Classes finish (1st year students) 27 Jul (Thu.)
29 Jul (Sat.) Classes finish
Classes finish (3rd, 4th, and 5th year students) 29 Jul (Sat.)
Classes finish (2nd year students) 31 Jul (Mon.)
Exam period (1st year students) 28 Jul (Fri.) - 3 Aug (Thu.)
Summer vacation (4th and 5th year students) 31 Jul (Mon.) - 19 Aug (Sat.)
Summer vacation (3rd year students) 31 Jul (Mon.) - 30 Aug (Wed.)
Summer vacation (2nd year students) 1 Aug (Tue.) - 11 Sep (Mon.)
4 Aug. (Fri.) - 16 Sep. (Sat.) Summer vacation
Summer vacation (1st year students) 4 Aug (Fri.) - 30 Aug (Wed.)
Makeup exam period (1st year students) 22 Aug (Tue.) - 24 Aug (Thu.)
21 Sep (Thu.) Graduation ceremony
Fall Semester
Classes commence (4th and 5th year students) 21 Aug (Mon.)
Classes commence (1st and 3rd year students) 31 Aug (Thu.)
Classes commence (2nd year students) 12 Sep (Tue.)
Guidance for new students 14 Sep (Thu.), 15 Sep (Fri.)
Entrance ceremony (Shonan campus) 21 Sep (Thu.)
21 Sep (Thu.) Guidance for current students
22 Sep (Fri.) Classes commence
31 Oct (Tue.) No classes - day before University Festival 31 Oct (Tue.)
1 Nov (Wed.) - 3 Nov (Fri.) University Festival 1 Nov (Wed.) - 3 Nov (Fri.)
4 Nov (Sat.) No classes - clean-up after University Festival 4 Nov (Sat.)
Winter vacation (2nd, 3rd, and 5th year students) 25 Dec (Mon.) - 6 Jan (Sat.)
Winter vacation (1st and 4th year students) 26 Dec (Tue.) - 4 Jan (Thu.)
27 Dec (Wed.) - 6 Jan (Sat.), 2018 Winter vacation
Classes finish (2nd year students) 20 Jan (Sat.), 2018
Classes finish (3rd year students) 27 Jan (Sat.)
Classes finish (1st and 5th year students) 3 Feb (Sat.)
Classes finish (4th year students) 13 Feb (Tue.)
Spring vacation (2nd year students) 22 Jan (Mon.) - 31 Mar (Sat.)
23 Jan (Tue.), 26 Jan (Fri.),
29 Jan (Mon.) - 31 Jan (Wed.),
2 Feb (Fri.), 2018
Makeup classes (if required)
Spring vacation (3rd year students) 29 Jan (Mon.) - 31 Mar (Sat.)
3 Feb (Sat.) Classes finish
Spring vacation (5th year students) 5 Feb (Mon.) - 31 Mar (Sat.)
5 Feb (Mon.) - 31 Mar (Sat.) Spring vacation
Spring vacation (4th year students) 14 Feb (Wed.) - 31 Mar (Sat.)
Spring vacation (1st year students) 5 Mar (Mon.) - 31 Mar (Sat.)
24 Mar (Sat.) Graduation ceremony (Shonan campus) 25 Mar (Sun.)

NB: Makeup classes are held in periods 5 and 6 on weekdays, at any time on Saturdays, and on makeup days.

Health Sciences

Graduate Undergraduate
Spring Semester
School of Health Sciences Guidance for new students 1 Apr (Sat.)
Student IDs issued 1 Apr (Sat.)
2 Apr (Sun.) Entrance ceremony 2 Apr (Sun.)
Placement test for new students 3 Apr (Mon.)
Department guidance for new students 4 Apr (Tue.)
4 Apr (Tue.) Guidance for new and current students
Freshmen seminar 5 Apr (Wed.)
Guidance for current students 6 Apr (Thu.)
7 Apr (Fri.) Classes commence 7 Apr (Fri.)
29 Apr (Sat.) Normal timetable on Showa Day holiday 29 Apr (Sat.)
6 May (Sat.) No classes 6 May (Sat.)
10 Jun (Sat.) No classes 10 Jun (Sat.)
17 Jul (Mon.) Normal timetable for Marine Day holiday 17 Jul (Mon.)
1 Aug (Tue.) - 5 Aug (Sat.) Makeup classes 24 Jul (Mon.), 25 Jul (Tue.), 28 Jul (Fri.)
29 Jul (Sat.) Classes finish 29 Jul (Sat.)
Exam period 31 Jul (Mon.) - 5 Aug (Sat.)
7 Aug (Mon.) - 16 Sep (Sat.) Summer vacation starts 7 Aug (Mon.) - 16 Sep (Sat.)
Intensive courses and workshops 7 Aug (Mon.) - 16 Sep (Sat.)
Makeup exam period 8 Aug (Tue.), 9 Aug (Wed.)
21 Sep (Thu.) Graduation ceremony 21 Sep (Thu.)
Fall Semester
Guidance for new students 20 Sep (Wed.)
20 Sep (Wed.) Guidance for current students 20 Sep (Wed.)
21 Sep (Thu.) Entrance ceremony 21 Sep (Thu.)
22 Sep (Fri.) Classes commence 22 Sep (Fri.)
23 Sep (Sat.) Normal timetable on Autumnal Equinox holiday 23 Sep (Sat.)
9 Oct (Mon.) Normal timetable on Sports Day holiday 9 Oct (Mon.)
31 Oct (Tue.) No classes - day before University Festival 31 Oct (Tue.)
1 Nov (Wed.) - 3 Nov (Fri.) University Festival 1 Nov (Wed.) - 3 Nov (Fri.)
4 Nov (Sat.) No classes - cleanup after University Festival 4 Nov (Sat.)
23 Nov (Thu.) Normal timetable on Labor Thanksgiving Day holiday 23 Nov (Thu.)
23 Dec (Sat.) Normal timetable on Emperor's Birthday holiday 23 Dec (Sat.)
27 Dec (Wed.) - 6 Jan (Sat.), 2018 Winter vacation 27 Dec (Wed.) - 6 Jan (Sat.), 2018
22 Jan (Mon.), 23 Jan (Tue.),
26 Jan (Fri.), 27 Jan (Sat.),
29 Jan (Mon.) - 2 Feb (Sat.)
Makeup classes 22 Jan (Mon.), 23 Jan (Tue.),
26 Jan (Fri.), 27 Jan (Sat.)
25 Jan (Thu.) Classes finish 25 Jan (Thu.)
Exam period 29 Jan (Mon.) - 3 Feb (Sat.)
Intensive courses and workshops 5 Feb (Mon.) - 17 Mar (Sat.)
5 Feb (Mon.) - 31 Mar (Sat.) Spring vacation 5 Feb (Mon.) - 31 Mar (Sat.)
Makeup exams 6 Feb (Tue.), 7 Feb (Wed.)
24 Mar (Sat.) Graduation ceremony (Graduate)
Graduation ceremony (Undergraduate) 25 Mar (Sun.)

NB: Makeup classes are held in periods 5 and 6 on weekdays, at any time on Saturdays, and on makeup days.

Biomedical Engineering

Graduate Undergraduate
Spring Semester
2 Apr (Sun.) Entrance ceremony
School guidance for undergraduate students 6 Apr (Thu.)
6 Apr (Thu.) Graduate school guidance for new and current students
7 Apr (Fri.) Classes commence 7 Apr (Fri.)
29 Apr (Sat.) Normal timetable on Showa Day holiday 29 Apr (Sat.)
6 May (Sat.) No classes 6 May (Sat.)
10 Jun (Sat.) No classes 10 Jun (Sat.)
17 Jul (Mon.) Normal timetable on Marine Day holiday 17 Jul (Mon.)
24 Jul (Mon.), 25 Jul (Tue.),
28 Jul (Fri.),
1 Aug (Tue.) - 5 Aug (Sat.)
Makeup classes 24 Jul (Mon.), 25 Jul (Tue.),
28 Jul (Fri.)
29 Jul (Sat.) Classes finish 29 Jul (Sat.)
Exam period 31 Jul (Mon.) - 5 Aug (Sat.)
7 Aug (Mon.) - 16 Sep (Sat.) Summer vacation 7 Aug (Mon.) - 16 Sep (Sat.)
Makeup exams 8 Aug (Tue.), 9 Aug (Wed.)
Intensive courses and workshops 7 Aug (Mon.) - 16 Sep (Sat.)
21 Sep (Thu.) Graduation ceremony 21 Sep (Thu.)
Fall Semester
21 Sep (Thu.) Guidance for current students 21 Sep (Thu.)
21 Sep (Thu.) Entrance ceremony
22 Sep (Fri.) Classes commence 22 Sep (Fri.)
23 Sep (Sat.) Normal timetable on Autumnal Equinox Day holiday 23 Sep (Sat.)
9 Oct (Mon.) Normal timetable on Sports Day holiday 9 Oct (Mon.)
31 Oct (Tue.) No classes - day before University Festival 31 Oct (Tue.)
1 Nov (Wed.) - 3 Nov (Fri.) University Festival 1 Nov (Wed.) - 3 Nov (Fri.)
4 Nov (Sat.) No classes - cleanup after University Festival 4 Nov (Sat.)
23 Nov (Thu.) Normal timetable on Labor Thanksgiving Day holiday 23 Nov (Thu.)
23 Dec (Sat.) Normal timetable on Emperor's Birthday holiday 23 Dec (Sat.)
27 Dec (Wed.) - 6 Jan (Sat.), 2018 Winter vacation 27 Dec (Wed.) - 6 Jan (Sat.), 2018
22 Jan (Mon.), 23 Jan (Tue.),
26 Jan (Fri.), 27 Jan (Sat.),
29 Jan (Mon.) - 3 Feb (Sat.)
Makeup classes 22 Jan (Mon.), 23 Jan (Tue.),
26 Jan (Fri.), 27 Jan (Sat.)
25 Jan (Thu.) Classes finish 25 Jan (Thu.)
Exam period 29 Jan (Mon.) - 3 Feb (Sat.)
Intensive courses and workshops 5 Feb (Mon.) - 17 Mar (Sat.)
5 Feb (Mon.) - 31 Mar (Sat.) Spring vacation 5 Feb (Mon.) - 31 Mar (Sat.)
Makeup exams 6 Feb (Tue.), 7 Feb (Wed.)
24 Mar (Sat.) Graduation ceremony (Graduate)
Graduation ceremony (Undergraduate) 25 Mar (Sun.)

NB: Makeup classes are held in periods 5 and 6 on weekdays, at any time on Saturdays, and on makeup days.