Campus LifeAcademic Calendar

Kumamoto

Academic Calendar 2017

Graduate Undergraduate
Spring Semester
Issuing student ID cards, placement test, academic guidance, and health check for new students 1 Apr (Sat.)
Guidance for new and current students 3 Apr (Mon.)
4 Apr (Tue.) Issuing student ID cards
4 Apr (Tue.) Entrance ceremony 4 Apr (Tue.)
5 Apr (Wed.), 6 Apr (Thu.) Guidance and consultation for new and current students, and health check 5 Apr (Wed.), 6 Apr (Thu.)
7 Apr (Fri.) Classes commence 7 Apr (Fri.)
6 May (Sat.) No classes 6 May (Sat.)
17 Jul (Mon.) Normal timetable on Marine Day holiday 17 Jul (Mon.)
English language exam 24 Jul (Mon.)
25 Jul (Tue.), 28 Jul (Fri.) Makeup classes (if required) 25 Jul (Tue.), 28 Jul (Fri.)
29 Jul (Sat.) Classes finish 29 Jul (Sat.)
Exam period 31 Jul (Mon.) - 5 Aug (Sat.)
Extra exam day (if required) 7 Aug (Mon.)
8 Aug (Tue.) - 15 Sep (Fri.) Summer vacation 8 Aug (Tue.) - 15 Sep (Fri.)
10 Aug (Thu.) - 15 Sep (Fri.) Summer Session 10 Aug (Thu.) - 15 Sep (Fri.)
Makeup exams for Spring semester graduates 8 Aug (Tue.) - 9 Aug (Wed.)
Makeup exams for other students 22 Aug (Tue.) - 24 Aug (Thu.)
16 Sep (Sat.) Graduation ceremony 16 Sep (Sat.)
Fall Semester
16 Sep (Sat.) Entrance ceremony 16 Sep (Sat.)
19 Sep (Tue.) Guidance and consultation for new and current students 19 Sep (Tue.)
20 Sep (Wed.) Classes commence 20 Sep (Wed.)
23 Sep (Sat.) Normal timetable on Autumnal Equinox Day holiday 23 Sep (Sat.)
9 Oct (Mon.) Normal timetable on Sports Day holiday 9 Oct (Mon.)
31 Oct (Tue.) No classes - day before University Festival 31 Oct (Tue.)
1 Nov (Wed.) - 3 Nov. (Fri.) University Festival (no classes) 1 Nov (Wed.) - 3 Nov. (Fri.)
4 Nov (Sat.) No classes - clean-up after University Festival 4 Nov (Sat.)
26 Dec (Tue.) - 5 Jan (Fri.), 2018 Winter vacation 26 Dec (Tue.) - 5 Jan (Fri.), 2018
12 Jan (Fri.) No classes - setup for National Center test for University Admissions (TBC) 12 Jan (Fri.)
13 Jan (Sat.) No classes - National center test for University Admissions (TBC) 13 Jan (Sat.)
Standard English language exam 22 Jan (Mon.)
24 Jan (Wed.) Makeup classes (if required) 24 Jan (Wed.)
27 Jan (Sat.) Classes finish 27 Jan (Sat.)
Exam period 29 Jan (Mon.) - 3 Feb (Sat.)
Extra exam day (if required) 5 Feb (Mon.)
6 Feb (Tue.) - 31 Mar (Sat.) Spring vacation 6 Feb (Tue.) - 31 Mar (Sat.)
Makeup exams for Fall semester graduates 6 Feb (Tue.) - 31 Mar (Sat.)
Makeup exams for other students 20 Feb (Tue.) - 22 Feb (Thu.)
8 Feb (Thu.) - 31 Mar (Sat.) Winter Session 8 Feb (Thu.) - 31 Mar (Sat.)
19 Mar (Mon.) Graduation ceremony 19 Mar (Mon.)