Campus LifeAcademic Calendar

Takanawa

Academic Calendar 2017

Graduate Undergraduate
Spring Semester
3 Apr (Mon.) Orientation for new students 1 Apr (Sat.)
2 Apr (Sun.) Entrance ceremony 2 Apr (Sun.)
Orientation period for new students 3 Apr (Mon.) - 6 Apr (Thu.)
Placement test for new students 3 Apr (Mon.)
3 Apr (Mon.) Consultation day on classes for current students 6 Apr (Thu.)
7 Apr (Fri.) Classes commence 7 Apr (Fri.)
29 Apr (Sat.) Normal timetable on Showa Day holiday 29 Apr (Sat.)
17 Jul (Mon.) Normal classes on Marine Day holiday 17 Jul (Mon.)
24 Jul (Mon.), 25 Jul (Tue.) Makeup classes (if required) 24 Jul (Mon.), 25 Jul (Tue.)
27 Jul (Thu.) Classes finish 27 Jul (Thu.)
Exam period 28 Jul (Fri.) - 3 Aug (Thu.)
4 Aug (Fri.) - 16 Sep (Sat.) Summer vacation 4 Aug (Fri.) - 16 Sep (Sat.)
Summer Session 4 Aug (Fri.) - 31 Sep (Thu.)
Makeup exam period 7 Aug (Mon.) - 8 Aug (Tue.): Students expected to complete graduate school (Graduate school students)
22 Aug (Tue.) - 23 Aug (Wed.): Continuing students
21 Sep (Thu.) Graduation ceremony 21 Sep (Thu.)
Fall Semester
19 Sep (Thu.) Consultation day on classes for new students 19 Sep (Thu.)
Placement test for new students 20 Sep (Wed.)
20 Sep (Wed.) Consultation day on classes for new and current students 20 Sep (Wed.)
21 Sep (Thu.) Entrance ceremony 21 Sep (Thu.)
22 Sep (Fri.) Classes commence 22 Sep (Fri.)
23 Sep (Sat.) Normal timetable on Autumnal Equinox Day holiday 23 Sep (Sat.)
9 Oct (Mon.) Normal timetable on Sports Day holiday 9 Oct (Mon.)
31 Oct (Tue.) No classes — day before University Festival 31 Oct (Tue.)
1 Nov (Wed.) - 3 Nov. (Fri.) University Festival 1 Nov (Wed.) - 3 Nov. (Fri.)
4 Nov (Sat.) No classes — clean-up after University Festival 4 Nov (Sat.)
23 Nov (Thu.) Normal timetable on Labour Thanksgiving Day holiday 23 Nov (Thu.)
23 Dec (Sat.) Normal timetable on Emperor's Birthday holiday 23 Dec (Sat.)
27 Dec (Wed.) - 6 Jan (Sat.), 2018 Winter vacation 27 Dec (Wed.) - 6 Jan (Sat.), 2018
22 Jan (Mon.), 23 Jan (Tue.) Makeup classes (if required) 22 Jan (Mon.), 23 Jan (Tue.)
25 Jan (Thu.) Classes finish 25 Jan (Thu.)
Exam period 26 Jan (Fri.) - 1 Feb (Thu.), 2018
2 Feb (Fri.) - 31 Mar (Sat.) Spring vacation 2 Feb (Fri.) - 31 Mar (Sat.)
Makeup exam period 5 Feb (Mon.) - 6 Feb (Tue.):Students expected to graduate (Students in their 4th year of undergraduate school and above)
20 Feb (Tue.), 21 Feb (Wed.):Continuing students
Winter Session 13 Feb (Tue.) - 2 Mar (Fri.)
24 Mar (Sat.) Graduation ceremony (postgraduate)
Graduation ceremony (undergraduate) 25 Mar (Sun.)

Note:

  1. Makeup classes may be scheduled on days other than the designated makeup days, depending on timetabling considerations.