Campus LifeAcademic Calendar

Takanawa

Academic Calendar 2018

Graduate Undergraduate
Spring Semester
1 Apr (Sun.) Entrance ceremony 1 Apr (Sun.)
3 Apr (Tue.) Orientation for new students 2 Apr (Mon.)
Orientation period for new students 2 Apr (Mon.) - 7 Apr (Sat.)
Placement test for new students 3 Apr (Tue.)
Consultation day on classes for current students 5 Apr (Thu.)
9 Apr (Mon.) Classes commence 9 Apr (Mon.)
30 Apr (Mon.) No class on Showa Day holiday 30 Apr (Mon.)
16 Jul (Mon.) No class on Marine Day holiday 16 Jul (Mon.)
17 Jul (Tue.), 18 Jul (Wed.), 24 Jul (Tue.) Makeup classes (if required) 17 Jul (Tue.), 18 Jul (Wed.), 24 Jul (Tue.)
23 Jul (Mon.) Classes finish 23 Jul (Mon.)
Exam period 25 Jul (Wed.) - 31 Jul (Tue.)
1 Aug (Wed.) - 15 Sep (Sat.) Summer vacation 1 Aug (Wed.) - 15 Sep (Sat.)
Summer Session 1 Aug (Wed.) - 28 Sep (Tue.)
Makeup exam period 6 Aug (Mon.) - 7 Aug (Tue.): Students expected to complete graduate school (Graduate school students)
21 Aug (Tue.) - 22 Aug (Wed.): Continuing students
20 Sep (Thu.) Graduation ceremony 20 Sep (Thu.)
Fall Semester
18 Sep (Tue.) Orientation 18 Sep (Tue.)
Placement test for new students 18 Sep (Tue.)
20 Sep (Thu.) Entrance ceremony 20 Sep (Thu.)
21 Sep (Fri.) Classes commence 21 Sep (Fri.)
24 Sep (Mon.) Normal timetable on Autumnal Equinox Day holiday 24 Sep (Mon.)
8 Oct (Mon.) No class on Sports Day holiday 8 Oct (Mon.)
31 Oct (Wed.) No classes — day before University Festival 31 Oct (Wed.)
1 Nov (Thu.) - 3 Nov. (Sat.) University Festival 1 Nov (Thu.) - 3 Nov. (Sat.)
4 Nov (Sun.) (No classes) — clean-up after University Festival 4 Nov (Sun.)
23 Nov (Fri.) No class on Labour Thanksgiving Day holiday 23 Nov (Fri.)
24 Dec (Mon.) No class on Emperor's Birthday holiday 24 Dec (Mon.)
25 Dec (Tue.) - 5 Jan (Sat.), 2019 Winter vacation 25 Dec (Tue.) - 5 Jan (Sat.), 2019
15 Jan (Tue.), 19 Jan (Sat.), 22 Jan (Tue.) Makeup classes (if required) 15 Jan (Tue.), 19 Jan (Sat.), 22 Jan (Tue.)
21 Jan (Mon.) Classes finish 21 Jan (Mon.)
Exam period 23 Jan (Wed.) - 29 Jan (Tue.), 2019
30 Jan (Wed.) - 30 Mar (Sat.) Spring vacation 30 Jan (Wed.) - 30 Mar (Sat.)
Makeup exam period 4 Feb (Mon.) - 5 Feb (Tue.):Students expected to graduate (Students in their 4th year of undergraduate school and above)
19 Feb (Tue.), 20 Feb (Wed.):Continuing students
Winter Session 13 Feb (Wed.) - 5 Mar (Tue.)
24 Mar (Sun.) Graduation ceremony (postgraduate)
Graduation ceremony (undergraduate) 25 Mar (Mon.)

Note:

  1. Makeup classes may be scheduled on days other than the designated makeup days, depending on timetabling considerations.